Embassy of Tanzania
72 Avenue Franklin Roosevelt
1050 Brussels - Belgium
Tel: +32 2640 6500
Fax: +32 2646 8026
Home Visa The Embassy Areas of Accreditation About Tanzania Economy News
About Tanzania

The United Republic of Tanzania (often referred to as Tanzania) is the union of the mainland (formerly known as Tanganyika) and the offshore Islands collectively known as Zanzibar. It covers 945, 000sq km of which 884, 000sq km is land mass and 61,000 km is water bodies. Its geographic location is on the east coast of Africa between latitudes 1 S to 12 S and longitudes 29.30 East.

Neighbouring countries are to the North: Uganda and Kenya; to the North West: Burundi, Rwanda and Democratic Republic of Congo; to the south; Malawi, Zambia and Mozambique; to the East lies the Indian Ocean where the coastline stretches for more than 800 km.

The state is made up of the three independent organs that together manage the national affairs: these organs are the Executive, the Judiciary and the Legislature. The political system is a multiparty democracy; leaders are freely elected under universal suffrage with a mandate to serve for five years. The constitution of the United Republic of Tanzania embraces the rule of law, safeguards human rights and provides for free press. Various laws have been enacted to promote private investments and guarantee and protect private property against arbitrary nationalisation.

For more information about the Republic of Tanzania, please visit websites of the United Republic of Tanzania and the Zanzibar Government.